Lok Sabha, Meeting bypolls as we speak: A five-way contest for Punjab’s Sangrur Lok Sabha seat


Bye-elections for 3 Lok Sabha seats and 7 Meeting seats are being held Thursday. The outcomes are scheduled to be introduced on June 26.

The Lok Sabha seats embody Azamgarh in Uttar Pradesh, which fell vacant after Samajwadi Get together (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav was elected to the Meeting; Rampur, additionally in UP, which fell vacant after SP chief Azam Khan was elected to the state Meeting; and Sangrur in Punjab, the place polls had been necessitated after Bhagwant Mann resigned as MP to contest the Meeting elections earlier this 12 months from Dhuri. He received and was sworn in because the Chief Minister.

The Meeting seats going to polls are Atmakur in Andhra Pradesh; Rajinder Nagar in Delhi; Surma, Jubarajnagar, City Bardowali, and Agartala in Tripura; and Mandar in Jharkhand.

Until 1 pm, the polling proportion in Sangrur was 22.21 per cent. Until 11 am, Rampur recorded 18.81 per cent, whereas the voter prove was 19.84 per cent in Azamgarh.

The bypolls are being held every week after violent protests broke out throughout the nation in opposition to the Centre’s new Agnipath scheme for navy recruitments. This has emerged as a difficulty in all of the three Lok Sabha seats going to polls as we speak, making the bye-elections difficult for the BJP.

The Rajinder Nagar bypoll in Delhi, in the meantime, which has been necessitated after AAP’s Raghav Chadha was nominated to the Rajya Sabha, has seen a high-voltage marketing campaign, with the get together heavyweights hitting the path forward of the elections. The BJP has fielded Rajesh Bhatia as its candidate, the AAP has given ticket to Durgesh Pathak, and Congress to Prem Lata.

In Tripura, the bye-elections are being held barely eight months forward of the overall Meeting elections subsequent 12 months, and is taken into account essential for Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha who changed Biplab Kumar Deb solely final month. The dentist-turned politician is himself a candidate and is preventing his first-ever direct election to save lots of his CM seat.

Andhra Pradesh’s ruling YSR Congress Get together has a transparent edge within the bypoll for the Atmakur Meeting constituency. The get together is assured of a cakewalk as a result of the principle opposition get together—the Telugu Desam Get together—isn’t contesting, other than Congress. The YSR Congress Get together’s most important rival is the BJP, which has hardly any presence within the constituency within the state’s Nellore district.

At Kakkarwal village in Punjab, the place voting started at 8 am. (Categorical Picture)

The BJP, Congress and an Unbiased candidate, Dev Kumar Dhan, are in rivalry for Jharkhand’s Mandar seat. The bypoll is being held after the disqualification of Bandhu Tirkey as an MLA within the wake of his conviction in a corruption case. The Congress, an ally of the ruling JMM-led authorities, hopes to retain the seat reserved for ST.

Rajinder Nagar bypoll in Delhi: Sushma Jaidka mentioned the unhealthy situation of roads and poor provide of water are most important points within the space.

Sangrur by-election, a five-way contest

There are 15.69 lakh voters eligible to forged their votes within the Sangrur Lok Sabha bye-election. As many as 1,766 polling cubicles have been arrange throughout the constituency, which contains 9 meeting seats in three districts — Sangrur, Lehragaga, Dirba, Sunam, Dhuri in Sangrur district; Malerkotla in Malerkotla district; and Barnala, Mehal Kalan and Bhadaur in Barnala district.

As of now, all of the 9 Meeting seats have been received by AAP with an enormous margins.

Although a complete of 16 candidates filed their nomination papers, this can be a five- means contest between AAP’s Gurmel Singh, a 37-year-old sarpanch of Ghrachon village and a primary time candidate; former Congress MLA Dalvir Singh Goldy Khangura; BJP’s Kewal Dhillon, a former Congress MLA who joined the saffron get together a day earlier than his candidature was introduced; SAD (Amritsar)’s Simranjit Singh Mann and SAD (Badal)’s Kamaldeep Kaur Rajoana, who’ve raised the problem of the discharge of Bandi Singhs (Sikh prisoners) lodged in several jails within the nation even after finishing their phrases.


Supply hyperlink